Entrance Exams Computer & Multimedia & Information Technology

Jawaharlal Nehru University-Master of Computer application Entrance Examination(JNU-MCAEE)


The Jawaharlal Nehru University constituted under the Jawaharlal Nehru University Act 1966, (53 of 1966) came into existence in 1969. Its objectives, as defined in the First Schedule to the Act, are as follows:

The University shall endeavour to promote the principles for which Jawaharlal Nehru worked during his life-time, national integration, social justice, secularism, democratic way of life, international understanding and scientific approach to the problems of society.

The University has been to evolve policies and programmes which will make Jawaharlal Nehru University a distinct addition to the national resources in higher education rather than a mere quantitative expansion of facilities which already exist. The University has identified and is concentrating upon some major academic programmes, which are of relevance to national progress and development.

Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), New Delhi was one of the first six Universities in India to initiate a Postgraduate teaching and research programme in the field of Biotechnology in 1985. Since 1985, it was running as the Special Centre for Biotechnology (CBT) under the joint sponsorship of the University Grants Commission (UGC) and the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India

School of computer and Systems Sciences ever since its inception in 1974, has been trying to meet the computing needs of different Schools in JNU and offering specially designed courses for their students.
The teaching is specially designed to integrate inputs from statistics, operations research, algebra and combinatorial, digital electronics, systems software, artificial intelligence, computer architecture and programming languages. A training and placement cell has been set up at the School to maintain liaison with various government and industrial organizations to facilitate employment for the students.
The various programmes offered in the School of Computer and System Sciences are M.C.A. (6semesters), M.Tech. (3 semesters) and Ph.D. These courses are designed to provide the necessary theoretical background and practical experience in Computer Science and Applications, to meet the growing manpower requirements of the Global Software Industry.
After the completion of the course, the students are fully competent to enter the Global IT- world as well as the fields of Research & Development at prestigious institutions in India and abroad.

JNU will held a National level entrance Examination for admission to MCA course on 19 May, 2013 .

Important dates and Eligibility


Bachelor's degree in any discipline with adequate competence in Mathematics under 10+2+3 pattern of education with at least 55% marks.

Application Fee and Mode of Payment

Application Form Rs. 300/-. Examination Fee Rs. 220/- for UR and Rs. 110/- for Reserved Categories.


Application Procedure
Online Application:
Candidates can apply Online on payment of prescribed fee if they have access to a computer, a printer and Internet by logging on to JNU website www.jnu.ac.in or www.jnuonline.in. The sites have been designed in a ‘user friendly’ way to help candidates for applying Online in a step-by-step fashion. Online application portal will remain open from 10:00 AM (IST) on 7th February, 2013 till 5:00 PM (IST) on 23st March, 2013.
Candidates can make payment towards Entrance Examiantion fee for Online application only through Credit Card/Debit Card/Net Banking and e. slip(Challan) to the SBI.
The Entrance Examination fee for candidates belonging to General Category including OBC is Rs. 220/- for 1 field of study, Rs. 430/- for 2 fields of study and Rs. 600/- for 3 fields of study. Similarly candidates belonging to SC/ST/ BPL and Physically Challenged (Handicapped) categories are required to pay examination fee at the rate of Rs. 110/- for 1 field of study, Rs. 215/- for 2 fields of study and Rs. 300/- for 3 fields of study.

Offline Application
Set of Application Form and Prospectus can be obtained through Post by sending crossed Bank Draft for Rs.300/- (Rs. Three Hundred only) drawn in favour of JAWAHARLAL NEHRU UNIVERSITY payble at NEW DELHI alongwith a self addressed (unstamped) envelope of the minimum size of 30 cms x 25 cms. clearly indicating the programme of study for which the Application Form is required on the self-addressed envelope to the SECTION OFFICER (ADMISSIONS), Room No.28, Administrative Block, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi 110067.
Candidates seeking a set of Application Form and Prospectus from Nepal are required to send a Demand Draft of Rs.400/- or equivalent in US Dollars. Money Orders and Cheques are not accepted. PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR REQUEST FOR SET OF APPLICATION FORM AND PROSPECTUS THROUGH COURIER. PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE WILL BE NO CASH COUNTER FOR SALE OF SET OF APPLICATION FORM AND PROSPECTUS. BPL card holders will be issued a set of application form & prospectus free of cost on submissiion of a copy of the BPL card issued by the competent authority showing their name in the card.

1. Start of Online Application process : 07/02/2013
2. Issue of offline Application Forms (by Post) : 07/02/2013
3. Last date for issue of offline Application Forms (by Post) : 11/03/2013
4. Closing of online Application Process : 23/03/2013
5. Last date of submission of completed offline or printed copy
of the online Application Form to reach JNU : 28/03/2013
6. Date of Entrance Examination : 19/05/2013
Note: The University reserves the right to change/cancel any Centre of Examination within India/abroad without assigning any reason.

Addresses of the Centres of Examination will be available on our JNU website (www.jnu.ac.in)

Test Centers

1. Agartala 1001, 27. Jammu 1027,
2. Ahmedabad 1002, 28. Katihar 1028,
3. Aizawl 1003, 29. Kolkata 1029,
4. Allahabad 1004, 30. Lucknow 1030,
5. Amritsar 1005, 31. Mumbai 1031,
6. Bangalore 1006, 32. Madurai 1032,
7. Bareilly 1007, 33. Nagpur 1033,
8. Bhubaneshwar 1008, 34. Noida 1034,
9. Calicut 1009, 35. Pant Nagar 1035,
10. Chandigarh 1010, 36. Patna 1036,
11. Chennai 1011, 37. Pondicherry 1037,
12. Coimbatore 1012, 38. Pune 1038,
13. Dehradun 1013, 39. Raipur 1039
14. Delhi 1014, 40. Ranchi 1040,
15. Dimapur 1015, 41. Sambalpur. 1041,
16. Gangtok 1016, 42. Shillong 1042,
17. Gwalior 1017, 43. Shimla 1043,
18. Guwahati 1018, 44. Silchar 1044,
19. Goa 1019, 45. Siliguri 1045,
20. Gorakhpur 1020, 46. Srinagar 1046,
21. Hyderabad 1021, 47. Thiruvananthapuram 1047,
22. Secundrabad 1022, 48. Udaipur 1048,
23. Imphal 1023, 49. Varanasi 1049,
24. Indore 1024, 50. Vijayawada 1050,
25. Itanagar 1025, 51. Visakhapatnam 1051 (Overseas Centre)
26. Jaipur 1026, 52. Kathmandu* 2000


We are in the process of updating information please visit later.